retropie start through putty when needed not every time

Have some feedback, questions, suggestions, or just fancy a chat? Pop it in here.
Post Reply
mail2rst
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 4:53 pm

retropie start through putty when needed not every time

Post by mail2rst »

I installed retropie on dietpi by Fourdee instruction.
https://github.com/MichaIng/DietPi/issues/1653

Thanks Fourdee & dietpi administrators for making a wonderful platform
"
#Autostart RetroPie on boot
echo 3 > /DietPi/dietpi/.dietpi-autostart_index
"
now retro pie autostart whenever my system reboot, I want to edit this way, I want my raspberry work as light as possible as server for other applications,. Please tell me the way if I want to initiate retropie I have to give some command through putty(other computer) to that machine & retropie will start & if system reboot, retropie component not auto start so that my server will stay cool with less active program. We use retropie once a month so it is not worth to run that in headless applications
Garret
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2018 12:23 pm

Re: retropie start through putty when needed not every time

Post by Garret »

I would also be interested. Have you found an easy solution to your request?

How are your performance with RetroPie on the DietPi?
Which model of raspberry pi are you using and which emulators (like psx or just snes)?
User avatar
Joulinar
Posts: 2312
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 12:49 am

Re: retropie start through putty when needed not every time

Post by Joulinar »

Hi,

not sure if it's working but I found following on the web
To switch to RetroPie at any time, simply use the command emulationstation from the Raspbian command line
https://www.pishop.us/raspberry-pi-proj ... art-guide/
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
Post Reply