Trouble with compiling Squid from source...

Having issues with your DietPi installation, or, found a bug? Post it here.
skyfly555

Trouble with compiling Squid from source...

Post by skyfly555 »

Hello,
I'm tying to compile Squid from source as explained in the article http://blog.diladele.com/2014/01/02/web ... pberry-pi/ because I'm trying to have a Wheezie DietPi Squid Server with HTTPS/SSL support using Diladele Web Safety.

It seems to work but when I get to the instruction:

Code: Select all

dpkg-buildpackage -rfakeroot -b
I get an error message saying I'm root and so on.

I'm SSHing to my RPi 2 and by default on DietPi I get into my RPi as root, I wonder if I can do something to not to be "root" because I think trouble I'm having with -rfakerrot it's related to that.

I suppose the answer is very simple, but I'm a Linux Server newbie (tons of experience with Ubuntu as workstation, but no experience using Debian-Raspbian Server), so I don't know how to do it on DietPi (some time ago I installed Official Minimal Jessie Image and I realised I went into the RPi as user, and had to sudo to use RPi as root from SSH, but I don't know how to do this - sudo & unsudo) under DietPi).

Thank you very much,
Fourdee
Site Admin

Re: Trouble with compiling Squid from source...

Post by Fourdee »

skyfly555 wrote:I get an error message saying I'm root and so on.
Any chance you could copy/paste the error/s? I'll take a look and see if I can provide any help.
If you find our project or support useful, then we’d really appreciate it if you’d consider contributing to the project however you can.
Donating is the easiest – you can use PayPal or become a DietPi patron.
skyfly555

Post by skyfly555 »

Thank you for your help, Fourdee.