No login prompt on tty1

Having issues with your DietPi installation, or, found a bug? Post it here.
Post Reply
GeEg
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:18 pm

No login prompt on tty1

Post by GeEg »

Hi. Have problem with no login prompt on TTY1.

My environment:
board: Nano PI M2A
sd card(s): 32G Sandisk and 8G Hama (same problem for both)
screen(s): X710 7'' 1024x600 (connected to LCD terminal on M2A board) / LG 32 via HDMI (same problem for both)
build/image: latest (DEC 2017) image DietPi_NanoPiM2-armv7-(Jessie).

After proper boot (boot text appeared) regardless the time of waiting I can see on screen info about default login and info from NTPD and have no login prompt.
I followed http://dietpi.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f ... 2&start=20 and check if commands:
systemctl enable getty@tty[1-2].service
systemctl disable getty@tty[3-6].service
reboot

can help. Nope. It doesn't help. Same problem no login prompt.
On tty2-tty6 login prompt exist and I was able to log into DietPi.
Probably due to this problem with tty1, also autologin (enabled by dietpi-config) changed nothing - can see the same screen with default login info and no prompt nor cli...
After installation (by dietpi-software) LXDE, MATE, Chrome etc and changing autostart accordingly - still the same screen with no login prompt.

Any idea? Can somebody help?
Attachments
screenshot
screenshot
NTwoO
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 9:53 pm

Re: No login prompt on tty1

Post by NTwoO »

This could also be related to my problem of not getting an SSH terminal. Can you SSH to your pi?
GeEg
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 2:18 pm

Re: No login prompt on tty1

Post by GeEg »

SSH works like a charm. Try to log into dietpi-config and configure SSH service.
den4wa
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:53 pm

Re: No login prompt on tty1

Post by den4wa »

I just installed DietPi on my NanoPC-T3 and have the same issue, no login prompt on tty1. SSH works fine to run DietPi-Config and update system. I even installed LXDE and Chromium then rebooted when finished and no luck. Then from SSH I ran startx and the LXDE desktop started on HDMI screen but with PID 700 error. Some functions did not work, so it seems this whole series of NanoPC* has some issues in the image.
oli0811
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 10:01 am

Re: No login prompt on tty1

Post by oli0811 »

I have the same problem as you guys.
I just freshly installed the NanoPi M2 image on my NanoPi 2 Fire (same CPU)
first I had no Login prompt after boot, so after I changed AutoLogin Settings to 2 didn't work I searched on Google and Downloaded the Virtualbox image to test directly on my big machine.
On my Virtualbox everything worked (including autostart, after I used this patch https://github.com/Fourdee/DietPi/issue ... -323332006) so back to my NanoPi, applied same Patch no difference.
So I searched again on Google and found this post. Not many Solutions here, but hey I thought OK if more User have this problem so I report a BUG from dietpi-launcher.
Now I had the Idea to search for the used tty's and found lsdev which does not work :?
After some more research on Google I had the Idea it could be that NanoPi does not use tty1 as first display but tty0, so one 'ls /dev/tty*' later, there is a tty0, enabled it via systemctl enable getty@tty0.service and reboot.
now I saw a command prompt, now my mind goes WTF?!?
I typed startx and pushed enter and this fucking machine asks for a password ?!?
After a minute or 2 screen clears and it looks like I am logged in on console
attached is a screenshot
Attachments
IMG_20180403_095649.jpg
oli0811
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 10:01 am

Re: No login prompt on tty1

Post by oli0811 »

After some more testing I had some freaky outputs look at attached screenshot :shock:

than i had some illogical outputs at ps fax :roll:

so i did some commands
systemctl enable getty@tty1.service
systemctl disable getty@tty3.service
systemctl disable getty@tty4.service
systemctl disable getty@tty5.service
systemctl disable getty@tty6.service
and a reboot

Now LXDE starts like it should :D

I don't know why it did not start before, but hey it works
Attachments
screenshot ps fax
screenshot ps fax
screenshot Loginscreen
screenshot Loginscreen
Post Reply