Page 1 of 2

[Resolved] v126 won't update on my RPi 3

Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2016 12:42 pm
by 5953LB
I've downloaded the "latest" Diet Pi for "Raspberry Pi's (All Models) .....

http://dietpi.com/downloads/images/Diet ... Jessie).7z

It's v126. I thought the latest version was v129. Where can I get v129 ?

v126 won't update on my RPi 3.

I have swapped out 2 power supplies and 2 microSD cards ....

Re: v129

Posted: Thu Sep 01, 2016 2:26 pm
by Fourdee
5953LB wrote:v126 won't update on my RPi 3.

I have swapped out 2 power supplies and 2 microSD cards ....
All DietPi images update to latest (v129) during 1st run.

What happens on the RPi 3 when you try to run the update?

Code: Select all

dietpi-update

Re: v126 won't update on my RPi 3

Posted: Sun Sep 04, 2016 10:24 am
by montreuilg
5953LB wrote:...v126 won't update on my RPi 3...
Same for me. I download the current release (126), format new card, transfer new 126 to it, reboot.

It hangs right after showing me the default user and password for the install.

_
gabriel

Re: v126 won't update on my RPi 3

Posted: Sun Sep 04, 2016 8:32 pm
by Fourdee
montreuilg wrote: It hangs right after showing me the default user and password for the install.

_
gabriel
Hi Gabriel,

Some questions, if you could answer i'd be grateful:
  • On the RPi board, can you confirm the Revision number (eg: Raspberry Pi 3 Model B v1.2, its above the ARM, next to RPi logo)
  • Power supply used (eg: RPi 5.1v/2.5amp)
  • SD card used (eg: Sandisk Ultra)
  • ISP provider (eg: Virgin Media, BT Infinity)

Re: v126 won't update on my RPi 3

Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2016 8:05 pm
by montreuilg
Fourdee wrote: Some questions, if you could answer i'd be grateful:
[*]Revision number: Pi3 model B, V1.2
[*]Power supply used: RPi 5.1v/2.5amp
[*]SD card used: Kingston (HCSDC4), 16GB, made in Taiwan.
[*]ISP provider: from Bell (Quebec, Canada) --- and out into the world through VPN: Logicweb (Toronto, CA)

My pleasure.

Re: v126 won't update on my RPi 3

Posted: Mon Sep 05, 2016 8:10 pm
by Fourdee
montreuilg wrote: My pleasure.
Hi Gabriel,

Thanks for the info.
It hangs right after showing me the default user and password for the install.
When this occurs on the main screen, please try pressing CTRL+C. Does this bring the system back to a working terminal?
If not, try press CTRL+ALT+F2 and login if the prompt appears

In the mean time, i'll create an updated v129 image so we can hopefully give you guys a way to get around this, until we find the cause.
I'll post the updated image up here, hopefully tomorrow.

Re: v126 won't update on my RPi 3

Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 7:38 am
by montreuilg
When this occurs on the main screen, please try pressing CTRL+C. Does this bring the system back to a working terminal? If not, try press CTRL+ALT+F2 and login if the prompt appears
Yeah, I felt stupid knowing about that one and having this Apple wired keyboard plugged into the Pi, not recognized... I guess I'll just buy a small bluetooth mouse/keyboard combo just for the basic setup/debug of the sbcs.
In the mean time, i'll create an updated v129 image so we can hopefully give you guys a way to get around this, until we find the cause.
I'll post the updated image up here, hopefully tomorrow.
Thanks again,

_
gabriel

Re: v126 won't update on my RPi 3

Posted: Wed Sep 07, 2016 3:00 pm
by Fourdee
Hi guys,

I've updated our RPi image to v130 with firmware v4.4.19.
Please try this image and let me know results: http://dietpi.com/downloads/images/Diet ... Jessie).7z

Re: v126 won't update on my RPi 3

Posted: Wed Sep 07, 2016 9:21 pm
by montreuilg
Perfect, thanks a lot!

_
gabriel

Re: v126 won't update on my RPi 3

Posted: Wed Sep 07, 2016 9:21 pm
by Fourdee
montreuilg wrote:Perfect, thanks a lot!

_
gabriel
No worries, working ok?