First Install Problem using Nanpi Neo2 image Topic is solved

Having issues with your DietPi installation, or, found a bug? Post it here.
kmpsproject

First Install Problem using Nanpi Neo2 image

Post by kmpsproject »

Hi All

howdy, i'm pretty new to SBC stuff so first time here.

I'm trying to install dietpi onto Factory NanoPi Neo2 - 512 Ram headless setup. I have download the most recent image for Neo2 and was getting no response from automated nor ping. I have edited the Dietpi.txt to use DHCP etc to no avail. I have flashed the card multiple time now and even restored the Ubuntu (Friendlyarm) which came back online instantly, so no hardware issue there. Can someone please help or guide how to troubleshoot headless installation

Any idea what can be wrong? Thanks!
Joulinar

Re: First Install Problem using Nanpi Neo2 image

Post by Joulinar »

Hi,
did you use Ethernet for your connection?

So you are using DHCP? Usually this is the default setting and there is no need to change or adjust anything in dietpi.txt.
Did you checked on your DHCP server /Router if an IP address was assigned?
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
kmpsproject

Post by kmpsproject »

tried both DHCP and static with no avail, how can i troubleshoot headless setup ? I can ping the ethernet even using static bit i can see transmit light lit...
kmpsproject

Post by kmpsproject »

i mean * cant ping
kmpsproject

Post by kmpsproject »

I downloaded the NanoPi Neo2 image, specifically "DietPi_NanoPiNEO2-ARMv8-Stretch"
product: https://www.friendlyarm.com/index.php?r ... uct_id=190

I have burned it now 5 times with Balena Etcher to a 16GB MicroSD and not once does my Neo2 actually boot up and connect to my network (via Ethernet). Friendlyarm os on the other hand works no problems, first time every time. I've waited up to 60 minutes but the Pi never seems to do anything.