Static IP makes network unusable. Topic is solved

Having issues with your DietPi installation or found a bug? Post it here.
maya95
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2021 12:20 pm

Re: Static IP makes network unusable.

Post by maya95 »

OK. found that in Dietpi-Config Quad9 DNS entries are 9.9.9.9 and 149.112.112.112

But on Windows using ping
ping dns9.quad9.net got

Pinging dns9.quad9.net [149.112.112.9] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 149.112.112.9: bytes=32 time=84ms TTL=56
Reply from 149.112.112.9: bytes=32 time=79ms TTL=56
Reply from 149.112.112.9: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=56
Reply from 149.112.112.9: bytes=32 time=43ms TTL=56

does it make a difference?
User avatar
Joulinar
Posts: 4453
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 12:49 am

Re: Static IP makes network unusable.

Post by Joulinar »

112 at the end is correct as you can see on this overview. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Public_ ... ame_server
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
maya95
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2021 12:20 pm

Re: Static IP makes network unusable.

Post by maya95 »

pinging ip address is OK in DietPi, but ping a name got Temporary failure in name resolution error.

What's the command to find out what DNS server I'm using on Linux?

And what's the equivalent of Windows NSLookup?
Last edited by maya95 on Tue Apr 20, 2021 5:16 pm, edited 4 times in total.
User avatar
Joulinar
Posts: 4453
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 12:49 am

Re: Static IP makes network unusable.

Post by Joulinar »

Code: Select all

cat  /etc/resolv.conf
Should be configured in this file
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
maya95
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2021 12:20 pm

Re: Static IP makes network unusable.

Post by maya95 »

Joulinar wrote: Tue Apr 20, 2021 5:15 pm

Code: Select all

cat  /etc/resolv.conf
Should be configured in this file
8.8.8.8
maya95 wrote: Tue Apr 20, 2021 5:10 pm And what's the equivalent of Windows NSLookup?
Answering my own question: need to execute the following command to install

apt install dnsutils

==

I switched back to DHCP and ping www.firefox.com and it immediately worked.

Code: Select all

ping www.firefox.com
PING dzlgdtxcws9pb.cloudfront.net (13.33.185.129) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from server-13-33-185-129.sea19.r.cloudfront.net (13.33.185.129): icmp_seq=1 ttl=242 time=153 ms
If static IP then will get Temporary failure in name resolution error.

Code: Select all

root@DietPi:~# ping www.firefox.com
ping: www.firefox.com: Temporary failure in name resolution
maya95
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2021 12:20 pm

Re: Static IP makes network unusable.

Post by maya95 »

So the verdict is:

Whenever dietpi-software launches, it will run
ping -c 1 -W 10 dns9.quad9.net
no matter what DNS entries I set at ethernet network configuration

It always fails if I set static IP for the VM, and
it always succeeds if I use DHCP for the VM.

And dietpi-software is not able to continue further if the command
ping -c 1 -W 10 dns9.quad9.net fails.
well, actually every ping command that pings a full qualified domain name fails once static IP is set.
maya95
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2021 12:20 pm

Re: Static IP makes network unusable.

Post by maya95 »

I downloaded and installed the Native PC for BIOS/CSM image on a physical machine, exactly the same issue.

Once set a static IP, DNS resolver doesn't work and Dietpi-Software refuses to proceed.
User avatar
trendy
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2020 2:54 pm

Re: Static IP makes network unusable.

Post by trendy »

Sounds like a port security issue.
Have you tried to change to static IP other devices in the network or only this PC?
Can you tell us more about the topology that you have?
maya95
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2021 12:20 pm

Re: Static IP makes network unusable.

Post by maya95 »

Very simple topology.

Only 2 PCs and Android smartphones devices behind DSL modem + router in 192.168.0.x range. Main PC running VMWare pro 16. x86 VM using bridged network card that ether bridged to main PC's Intel gigabit network card with IPv4/IPv6/etc protocols that Windows 10 installed or to a Realtek Gigabit USB 3.0 adapter which removed all protocols except VMware Bridged Protocol, same result.

Image

Image

Also the same result for the other physical PC.
Last edited by maya95 on Wed Apr 21, 2021 1:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
trendy
Posts: 292
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2020 2:54 pm

Re: Static IP makes network unusable.

Post by trendy »

maya95 wrote: Wed Apr 21, 2021 12:44 pm Also the same result for the other physical PC.
Therefore it has something to do with the modem/router, not dietpi.
Post Reply