Portainer - Swarm installation Topic is solved

Have some feedback, questions, suggestions, or just fancy a chat? Pop it in here.
User avatar
Joulinar
Posts: 4864
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 12:49 am

Re: Portainer - Swarm installation

Post by Joulinar »

maybe you like to share the image you are trying to run. And if it is 32 or 64bit
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
oengus
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2021 6:37 pm

Re: Portainer - Swarm installation

Post by oengus »

Just for info, the bit about the ARM image is coming from the link you provided: https://www.portainer.io/blog/portainer-release-2.1.1
Note this feature is only available for AMD64 architectures (Windows & Linux). The team are still working on creating a standalone binary for Compose that works on ARM/ARM64 (we aim to add support for these architectures in a future release).
Now what I'm running is what comes out of the box from DietPi's software list.
User avatar
Joulinar
Posts: 4864
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 12:49 am

Re: Portainer - Swarm installation

Post by Joulinar »

Now what I'm running is what comes out of the box from DietPi's software list.
I guess we miss understood. What Compose script you like to run?
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
oengus
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2021 6:37 pm

Re: Portainer - Swarm installation

Post by oengus »

Oh yeah, I definitely misread that, sorry ! ;-)

So far, those I wanted to install are ERPNext https://erpnext.com/ (https://github.com/frappe/erpnext), and something to host private PHP Composer packages... So either Statis (https://github.com/composer/satis but they don't have any docker-compose file anyway, just plain Dockerfile) or Repman (https://repman.io/docs/standalone/), which also acts as a proxy to Packagist, which is nice...
User avatar
Joulinar
Posts: 4864
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 12:49 am

Re: Portainer - Swarm installation

Post by Joulinar »

not sure if this will work on ARM based system. At least frappe images seems to be available on AMD64 only. Same for composer/satis and buddy/repman, no ARM image.

At least if I read hub.docker.com correctly
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
oengus
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2021 6:37 pm

Re: Portainer - Swarm installation

Post by oengus »

AH! Good call, I didn't even bother check that before trying their docker-compose files... I really need to get myself an AMD64 machine for my homelab !
User avatar
Joulinar
Posts: 4864
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 12:49 am

Re: Portainer - Swarm installation

Post by Joulinar »

Still I don't understand why people didn't cross build images for all platforms :roll:

You could try to have a VM running somewhere or you are going to build the required images yourself.
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
oengus
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2021 6:37 pm

Re: Portainer - Swarm installation

Post by oengus »

I know there are some edge issues with Alpine, but I'm with you on that, there's no reason not to build images for all distros at this point.

Thanks for trying with me :)
User avatar
Joulinar
Posts: 4864
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 12:49 am

Re: Portainer - Swarm installation

Post by Joulinar »

I will move the topic to general discussions.

Hope you will find your way to get your apps up and running on a different hardware
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
Post Reply