Nanopi R5C seems to ignore SD Card in boot order

I’m a programmer who uses Linux on a daily basis. But the NanoPi R5C is my first SBC and I’m trying to get DietPi onto it for the first time.

So sorry I’m a bit lost on this very simple issue.

My problem is that the R5C seems to ignore the mini sd card in the boot sequence.

I’ve read the documentation for DietPi, googled, searched through Github issues and forum posts to try to find an answer as I know it will be simple, but I can’t find anything.

The sd card is brand new, I have flashed the sd card with DietPi according to the DietPi instructions, but when I insert the card the R5C simply boots straight into the default OS which is Friendly WRT.

The Friendly Elec docs seem to say that in order to flash the eMMC, you need to use their special tool - NanoPi R5C - FriendlyELEC WiKi

But the R5C is supported by DietPi, and the DietPi docs doesn’t mention that, the dietpi docs just say flash the image to the sd card, insert and boot.

Yes you can try the way describe on FriendlyELEC WiKi, section 4.4.3.1.2 Flash third party OS (Image file) to eMMC

The procedure described in our online documents is quite general and may not work with every SBC available on the market. In your case, it seems that eMMC is preferred over TF card. I know this behaviour from the past, where it was necessary to erase the eMMC on the NanoPi before booting from the TF card. Looks like this has changed according to FriendlyELEC WiKi.

Actually,i only done the same operation like dietpi install tutorial showed.i use win32disklmager to flash img in SD card. When insert card to r5c,it can automatically boot from card,not eMMC. :upside_down_face:

I have managed to complete the following 2 tasks:

1. Get the R5C to boot from the sd card
  2. Copy the R5C DietPi installation from the sd card to the emmc

(1) How to get the NanoPi R5C to boot from the sd card.

In order to do this I executed the following command: