AdGuard w. Unbound - showing only 1 client (router)

Hey team! I’m not really sure if this is a DietPi issue or AdGuard one, or something else I did wrong :thinking: In my clients list on AdGuard console, I only see my router listed there. I’m running Unbound and have directed the router to use the Pi host as DNS (something I’ve never done before) and looking in the clients list only the router is there, is this expected?

I was running Pi-Hole before (but no Unbound) and then I could see all the clients (around 7) on my network which was utilizing pihole blocking. It’s not really a big issue, just slightly annoying as I want to know which device most blocks are coming from.

I’ve confirmed that all my devices are successfully blocking, I just don’t see them in the clients list. Are there any suggestions on this? It’s the first time I’m using AdGuard, so just exploring some alternatives to pihole :slight_smile:

Thanks!

This is how it looks in the Clients (runtime)

Well it is a behaviour on how you setup your environment.

I guess your clients use your Router as local DNS server. Correct? And your router is going to ask AGH? Therefore your router is seems as client on AGH as the Router is the one asking. To see all clients on AGH, you would need to review your DHCP server settings. And check what DNS server is used inside DHCP configuration. Not sure what router you use and who is DHCP server. Some router allow to adjust DHCP Server settings and assign your one DNS server inside DHCP configuration.

Heya! Yeah this all makes sense, but what I don’t understand is why it works with pi-hole and not AGH, as the setup is basically exactly the same (except that I use my local DNS now).

My Router (192.168.42.1) is set to use the DNS server which is the Pi (192.168.42.150) running AGH & Unbound. And the DHCP is all happening on the router side assigning all the clients the IPs.