Unable to connect to Samba Share

I have a Samba Share hosted on a DrayTek Router 2925, running off a USB Key.

The Share itself works fine when accessing from a Windows device. The Server prompts for a Username and Password, then I connect and can see all the Folders and Files.

But using Drive Manager in DietPI I cannot get it to connect. Attached is the error I get every time. I don’t know a huge amount about Linux, but I have tried various switches I’ve found online by editing FSTab, and trying Mount, and trying SMBClient - none of them work. Attached is a screenshot of the error I receive from Drive Manager.

Has anyone else come across this?

Hi,

what would be the output of following command

mount -t cifs -o "username=MyUserName,password=myPas$werd,vers=3.0" //(your host ip)/(your remote share name) /mnt/my_mount_dir

Sorry I forgot to add - my Samba Server does not support higher than SMB 2.0, which I think is a likely cause.

If I try Mount with vers=1.0 or vers=2.0, these don’t work either.

ok can you share the entire command and output. Just remove private information like user/pw

Sure, neither of these work:

mount -t cifs -o  username=***,password=***,vers=1.0 //192.168.5.1/dietpi /mnt/Backups
mount error(95): Operation not supported
Refer to the mount.cifs(8) manual page (e.g. man mount.cifs)

mount -t cifs -o  username=***,password=***,vers=2.0 //192.168.5.1/dietpi/ /mnt/Backups
mount error(22): Invalid argument
Refer to the mount.cifs(8) manual page (e.g. man mount.cifs)

Dmesg gives more:

[  393.947414] CIFS: Attempting to mount //192.168.5.1/dietpi
[  394.434826] CIFS: VFS: \\192.168.5.1 Dialect not supported by server. Consider  specifying vers=1.0 or vers=2.0 on mount for accessing older servers
[  394.434992] CIFS: VFS: cifs_mount failed w/return code = -95
[  394.510835] CIFS: Attempting to mount //192.168.5.1/dietpi