Turning off sleep modes

I am pretty much a n00b even though I have been working at learning linux on and off for many years. In other words, my skill level is novice.

I have been working with DietPi on a Raspberry Pi Zero W. What I am currently doing is running a very low priority, in house/self-hosted, Wordpress server. It works very well except that the Pi seems to go into a sleep mode after a long period of inactivity. I cannot wake it with keyboard. I cannot reach it via SSH. I cannot reach it via HTTP. I am connecting via the internal WiFi adapter and do have BT enabled. My keyboard is a wired USB keyboard and no mouse.

It might be two separate issues: screen blanking and deep sleep.

I have done quite a bit of reading but haven’t been successful.

What is the definitive answer for how to turn off screen blanking permanently?
How can I turn off any and all sleep modes?

I’m liking DietPi so far. Thanks in advance.

Hi,

You have to enable “auto reconnect” under “WiFi settings” in dietpi-config.
But your default gateway (router) must answer on “ping”. Please check it.

Powersaving for WiFi card is disable by default.

On hdmi output:

I forgot to set that after re-imaging this last time. Thanks.

That is the main thread that frustrated me. (Others, like on the Raspberry Pi forum too.) /etc/kbd/config doesn’t exist. Indeed, /etc/kbd doesn’t exist either.

I am now trying adding consoleblank=0 to /boot/cmdline.txt

http://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?p=1083361#p1083361

See also: http://www.raspberrypi.org/documentation/configuration/screensaver.md

I noticed that there was a new DietPi image so I backed up the Wordpress site and set the system up again. There are no sleep problems except for screen blanking; it keeps pulling up HDMI2 on my monitor when I access the site after screen blanks. That gets quite annoying when I’m using my desktop on HDMI1. :rofl: I haven’t tried a fix yet but I think the screen fix from my previous post will work.