Samba file server - How can I set root folder as base directory ?

Hi,

I’m new to dietpi. I installed in on my Raspberry Pi 4. It works great. But I have a question about Samba/SMB server.

I choosed Samba server over FTP for a better integration with Windows and my Windows apps. But I have an issue :

I would like the base directory to be the root folder of my pi. I often need to access various folders such as /mnt, /home … I found on the wiki how to change the base directory for the samba share, but it doesn’t work with root. I can only choose folders such as /mnt or /home as base folder. I would like to choose / . I can use this command found on the wiki :

sed -i ‘/path = /c\path = /Path/To/Directory’ /etc/samba/smb.conf
dietpi-services restart

If I only put / in /Path/To/Directory, it doesn’t work. I don’t want to enter this command each time I want to switch between /mnt or /home. I would like to be on the root of these folders in samba.

How could I do that ? Thanks in advance for any answer. Any answer is welcome. Have a good day!

H,

that should be quite easy. Just edit the smb.conf file manually.

nano /etc/samba/smb.conf
remove - path = /mnt/dietpi_userdata/
add    + path = /
systemctl restart smbd.service

see attached. That’s how it looks like :slight_smile:

1 Like

It works perfectly, thanks ! That’s exactly what I wanted to achieve.

But I have an issue : there is lots of folders I don’t have the permissions to access like /root :

How can I manage the permissions for the SMB share ? How can I authorize this folder ?

Thanks in advance for your help. Have a good day !

that’s correct because you are going to login as user dietpi but the directory is owned by user root and only root can access it

drwx------  5 root root  4096 Apr 29 15:58 root