PlexPi NAS

Hello all!

My first post so I thought I’d introduce myself with who I am, how I came across DietPi etc etc.

I’m currently a student in London and I came across DietPi after spending endless hours upon hours of researching how best to implement a networked DLNA server for streaming archived CDs as FLAC files.

I decided a Pi 3 and some external storage was best, at least I have control over the updates vs some OEM NAS solution! I chose DietPi after seeing how well optimised it was for the Pi 3 vs Raspbian and other distros lack of completeness. Everything you need is on-hand through dietpi-config or dietpi-software = :smiley:

I arrived at using Plex Media Server after some testing as although minidlna does the job, it didn’t do it quite the way I was hoping! DietPi’s shortened + simplified Samba config has made it a ton easier to get this project going.

NAS Specs:

• Pi 3 Model B
  • ORICO 9528U3 2 Bay USB 3.0 SATA HDD Enclosure (NOT the RAID version)
  • 2 x 2TB Seagate Ironwolf NAS HDDs (set up to BTRFS RAID-1)
  • Ethernet connection
  • Some kind of router

So far I have disabled root SSH access, enabled FirewallD, enabled Fail2Ban (with an appropriate ban time) and set DietPi to safe overclock levels in the config. If anyone has suggestions on further security/optimisations for this setup I’d love to hear them :slight_smile:

Hope you enjoyed the read!

Hi,

Thanks for the feedback :slight_smile:

Welcome aboard, and apologies for the “I thought you was a spambot” during signup lol :slight_smile:

So far I have disabled root SSH access, enabled FirewallD, enabled Fail2Ban (with an appropriate ban time) If anyone has suggestions on further security/optimisations for this setup I’d love to hear them > :slight_smile:

Ok, yep, so the main one (if not done already) is change the root password from the default dietpi.