ownCloud Optimisation on Model B Pi

Firstly, thanks for creating DietPi. I’m quite new to the Pi scene after being gifted a model B Pi and had followed some YouTube Tutorials to set up the OS and get it on my network.

I’m now running ownCloud off it. While it is working, I’m getting the following “suggestions”.

• Transactional file locking should be configured to use memory-based locking, not the default slow database-based locking. See the documentation :arrow_upper_right: for more information.

• You are accessing this site via HTTP. We strongly suggest you configure your server to require using HTTPS instead as described in our security tips.

• No memory cache has been configured. To enhance your performance please configure a memcache if available. Further information can be found in our documentation.

Suggestion 2 is obvious enough. I haven’t got a domain hooked up to the Pi, so I can’t run the Let’s Encrypt script to get SSL working.

Suggestions 1 and 3 are what I’m struggling with. From what I’ve read in the ownCloud documentation, most of this should “just work” out of the box. I’m running redis since that was the memcache suggested in dietpi-software and it looks like ownCloud should have picked up on it automatically.

Any help would be appreciated. :smiley:

What version of ownCloud are you running?

Per the docs (had to used the “cached” version at work)

Transactional File Locking¶

ownCloud’s Transactional File Locking mechanism locks files to avoid file corruption during normal operation. It performs these functions:

Operates at a higher level than the filesystem, so you don’t need to use a filesystem that supports locking
Locks parent directories so they cannot be renamed during any activity on files inside the directories
Releases locks after file transactions are interrupted, for example when a sync client loses the connection during an upload
Manages locking and releasing locks correctly on shared files during changes from multiple users