Is anyone running DietPi on a Pine64/soquartz?

I’m a new DietPi user, attempting to install and run on an soquartz.
I am testing the soquartz on a Raspberrry Pi CM4 IO Board.

Is anyone successfully running this combination?
I’m failing miserably using install images right off the website.
I’m following the website instructions exactly.

I’ve tried emmc booting and sdcard booting - both fail similarly.
I also tried the bookworm images (website points at buster)
but the boot setup is basically the same & it fails the same way.

I’m far from a booting expert, but it looks from the serial console like
u-boot is running OK, but then it can’t find the /boot partition, and things go downhill from there. It’s never actually finding/loading the vmlinuz.
I end up at what I believe is a u-boot prompt.

Thanks in advance if anyone can help!!

1 Like

Ha! Following up on my own post.

I was researching OS options for my soquartz. Manjaro runs,
but I really don’t like it very much. DietPi sounds like a good fit,
but as I said earlier doesn’t boot.

I ran into James Chambers’ blog from a couple weeks ago:
Pine64 SOQuartz CM4 Alternative Review - James A. Chambers
where he reports EXACTLY the same problem attempting to boot DietPi
on the soquartz as I’m having.

So, it appears that DietPi on Pine64/soquartz is DOA.

I’m pretty much a noob on booting/dts type stuff, unfortunately.
I can experiment if someone wants to give me some debugging ideas…

Thanks for reporting. I’ll try to replicate.

But he reported that Armbian worked which is anyway cleaner and lighter then dietpi.

We use Armbian as base image as well :wink:
And DietPi usually is more lightweight.

Not for Quartz64 boards, we use Peter Geis’ kernel and bootloader builds instead: Peter Geis / quartz64_ci · GitLab