Folder permissions

Hey!

First of all, sorry if this is not the correct sub-forum to ask this question, and even more if this question has been asked before —I searched, lightly, and I couldn’t find anything that really helped me— or if this is a really stupid question, but I’m a little noob on Linux permissions.

I have DietPi installed on a Cubox-i and it’s working really great. I have attached to the device a 1TB hard drive where I have a /Media folder that I want use for Radarr, Sonarr and Lidarr and share it over the network with Samba.

Trying to make things right —or as I guess should be right— my idea was to give granulate permissions to different users for different purposes. I created a user for the that specific Samba share mediashare and put that user with the lidarr, sonarr and radarr users on the group users that owns the those folders that I want to share and give permissions to those folder with:

$ chmod -R 764 /mnt/drive/Media

Radarr keep telling me that it isn’t able to write on that folder and when I use samba with the mediashare user I can’t delete or write anything.

I’m probably missing something here, but I really don’t know what.

I have installed Webmin and sometimes I manage things with its web interface. For example, I setup Samba with it.

Thanks for the help before hand.

PS1/ How do you format inline code in this forum?

PS2/ Does my issue have something to do with this? https://github.com/MichaIng/DietPi/issues/3235

Hey!

I really know that mine is a really stupid question that doesn’t have to do anything specifically with DietPi —or it does— but I really don’t know how to proceed or fix my problem.

So if anyone is able to point me in the right direction I really appreciated.

lpuerto
Note that directories need execute permissions to be accessible (file listing), hence chmod -R 775 should work instead.
Best would be to leave non-execute permissions for files:

find /mnt/drive/Media -type d | xargs chmod 775