Dropbear SSH closing connection when attempting to connect as a non Root User

Hi there I’m new to DietPi and Dropbear but I’m honestly loving the Distro so far especially for the this particular setup… although currently I’m having issues configuring Dropbear for SSH purposes…

I’ve disabled Root Logins by adding the -w argument in the “/etc/default/dropbear” config file…

This has seemed to work because both Root and the Default dietpi user hand out permission denied errors whenever attempting to login via SSH on a separate machine… although when I attempt to login as a normal user with sudo or without sudo privileges I get a connection closed error…

Search Engines and Documentation have been useless so far, Thus I’m truly hoping someone here can help me solve this little issue, Any help is greatly appreciated thanks! :blush:

Hi,

usually user dietpi should still have access as you lockout user root only. Probably something wrong on your Dropbear server. Do you still have local access to the system? Did you tried to reboot.

I did a small test and added -w option

# any additional arguments for Dropbear
DROPBEAR_EXTRA_ARGS=-w

once Dropbear was started, root was not able to login but user dietpi is still working

I had a feeling something was wrong early on because the dietpi user refuses to login physically at the device or via ssh from the start… even with root ssh login enabled I wasn’t able to login as any personal or even the dietPi User…

As you suggested I have tried rebooting multiple times through a safe shutdown or reboot command this sadly hasn’t helped…

I do have physical access to the Pi4 thus I have confirmed that the DropBear Service was running via a “systemctl status” command…

Any help is greatly appreciated thank you!

first revert your change and remove -w flag. Than we would need to check why no other user (except root) can login. What happen if you login as root and try following

su - dietpi