DietPi Specific VPN with PiHole Gateway Guide?

I’m hoping to use this thread to assemble enough information that I can set up one of these and potentially write it up as a community tutorial.

Goal: Set up a VPN gateway that utilsies PiHole for ad/mal blocking and doesn’t leak DNS.

There are a few resources about this including a couple of threads on these very boards

https://dietpi.com/forum/t/solved-dietpi-as-vpn-gateway/1477/1

There’s also a variation to the ‘Superjamie’ version here (that referrences the thread above)

https://zone13.io/post/raspberry-pi-vpn-gateway-for-nordvpn/

But I find myself wondering how much of these I need to do as I have a NordVPN subscription (seeing as they have ‘native’ support in DP) and that tool allows for the autoconnection stuff to happen?

So, I’m looking for help to make this work as simply as possible and (hopefully) along the way develop something of use to the DP community. I’m sitting on a pretty borked installation right now, so I’m going to flash the sd card and try to start from scratch.

First dumb question. What is Wireguard and do I need it for this?

Hi,

let’s start with the last question you have raised

What is Wireguard and do I need it for this?

Wireguard is a new VPN technology that should be faster than all other VPN technologies. It’s an alternative VPN Server compare to OpenVPN. Both VPN server are totally different and you would need to select one technology.

Within DietPi, NordVPN is supported with OpenVPN naively. Ton setup, you can use DietPi scripts.

NordLynx (NordVPN implementation of Wireguard) is currently not implemented into DietPi. However you could install it manually, without using DietPi scripts. What is NordLynx? | NordVPN support

Bottom line, if you like to stick to DietPi scripting, you don’t need Wireguard.

Thanks Joulinar,

So it seems the NordLynx version of wireguard may be a good thing for keeping up the speed of my proposed vpn gateway/pihole box?