Can you use ProFTPD change location to external HDD?

Hello. I’m a little new to Linux. I want to be able to access and transfer files to my external HDD on my Windows PC, but I’m confused on which file servers I should use. ProFTPD is recommended, but I don’t know if there’s a way to change the location directory to be different drives. On the docs, they said to use “sed -i ‘/DefaultRoot /c\DefaultRoot /Path/To/Directory’ /etc/proftpd/proftpd.conf” and replace /Path/To/Directory, but that doesn’t seem to work. I might be doing it wrong?

Hi,

basically you have 3 options to access data on DietPi from Windows

1. SCP
  2. FTP
  3. SAMBA

For SCP and FTP you would need a client tool on Windows, while SAMBA share can be mounted as network drive directly.

For FTP and SAMBA some additional server software and configuration would be needed, while SCP will work out of the box without any configuration. Only think needed to get SCP working would be OpenSSH Client (ID 0)

Pls can you share your FTP config file

cat /etc/proftpd/proftpd.conf
1 Like

Okay, thanks for the clarification. I’m guessing I change the “DefaultRoot /mnt/dietpi_userdata” with my external HDD? Here’s what my proftpd.conf:

# DietPi ProFTPD default config
# Location: /etc/proftpd/proftpd.conf
# Docs: http://www.proftpd.org/docs/directives/linked/configuration.html

# Includes DSO modules
Include /etc/proftpd/modules.conf

# Set "off" to disable IPv6 support which is problematic on IPv4 only boxes.
UseIPv6 on
# If set "on" you can experience a longer connection delay in many cases.
IdentLookups off
UseReverseDNS off

ServerName "DietPi FTP"
ServerType standalone
DeferWelcome off

MultilineRFC2228 on
DefaultServer on
ShowSymlinks on

# Permit resuming downloads
AllowRetrieveRestart On
# Permit resuming uploads
AllowStoreRestart On
TimeoutNoTransfer 120
TimeoutStalled 120
TimeoutIdle 240
DisplayLogin welcome.msg
DisplayChdir .message true
ListOptions "-l"

DenyFilter \*.*/