Boot and Run app

Hi, I am very new to Linux. I have a console app that Ive written in Pascal, runs great. It needs a valid wifi connection to run.
It is doing some SPI calls to get device info. Now, Im ready to deploy this. I get so frustrated with the whole security concepts in Linux… I just want to something to boot and run and app… Pretty much like we used to do in DOS.

1. I noticed that the default user is Root… does that imply that the root user has assumed sudo rights? Meaning that I can simple changed the password, and that user by its nature has full control?
  2. How do I make that user login automatically?

I dont know why peple are so bent on passwords, if Im the only person in the world using this device.

Gord

ghamm
The root user always exists and has full permissions, yes. If you never open access to the device to www, especially not the SSH port 22, and the device is at home only accessible by yourself, the root user password indeed has no practical relevance. However it is better to give higher security recommendations by default then too low, e.g. when users open their SSH port to www for remot access, or it is a VPS, so every bot can brute-force to root access.

You can automatically login on boot via dietpi-autostart option ‘7’ ‘: Automatic login’. You can choose the user (e.g. root) there which should log in.

To run a script on boot, you have plenty possibilities. If you are not too experienced, you can simply put it into /var/lib/dietpi/postboot.d. The DietPi boot scripts will execute it automatically with root permissions then, once the boot process has fully finished, thus network is assured, but BEFORE login/outside the login shell.