Home assistant? Topic is solved

Have some feedback, questions, suggestions, or just fancy a chat? Pop it in here.
User avatar
Joulinar
Posts: 6525
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 12:49 am

Re: Home assistant?

Post by Joulinar »

Click the link at the end of section 3
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
kannz
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2021 2:37 pm

Re: Home assistant?

Post by kannz »

i could see the link. i read the README.md. i dont know what to do to actually install os agent. when it just tells me a few command line things to put in thats fine but then it goes into a loose thing just saying to download the latest and then sudo. im not on debian im on a windows computer using putty.

EDIT: found a usable walkthrough i think..if anyone wants to try it out. was suggested to me by a knowitall from their forums. so far its working for me.. ill post if i have a problem. https://community.home-assistant.io/t/i ... -11/247116

EDIT: looks like i spotted a problem. it says that app armor isnt enabled. hmm it works really well though. but without app armor i think its security is limited..it may be because of my docker version. um i may have most recent version. i think i read somewhere its not supported. would downgrading that fix it? if it would how do i do that? looking around..

EDIT: someone at HA forums told me add parameters to cmdline.txt apparmor=1 security=apparmor. with nano /boot/cmdline.txt and now it seems working normally. Very happy with this. added a motion sensor so far and its working well through a wall.using a pi4 right now but ill test it out on my c2 and see if it can stand being used as a HA hub,a samba server, and pihole adblocker. :)
User avatar
Joulinar
Posts: 6525
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 12:49 am

Re: Home assistant?

Post by Joulinar »

did you tried to reboot? Is all working afterwards? if yes, enjoy HA.
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
kannz
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2021 2:37 pm

Re: Home assistant?

Post by kannz »

oh yeah its all installed an working. pi4 is running home assistant with 30 zigbee devices, pihole, unbound, samba and transmission. no errors so far. now im just messing with my c2 to see if i can get the same thing running on it. probably not without terrible performance but ill see how well it goes in a few or maybe tomorrow as I kinda have a migraine.. thank you for the help. :)
Post Reply