Some Questions

Have some feedback, questions, suggestions, or just fancy a chat? Pop it in here.
JackVandereden

Some Questions

Post by JackVandereden »

Hello everyone,

I am the proud owner of a Pi 4 that I use every day as a desktop PC.
I use it with FydeOS, a modified chromeOS and it works perfectly fine on Pi 4, even youtube at 1080p works perfectly and I have no complaints. The problem for me remains confidentiality and I would therefore like to switch to DietPi.

I use my Pi with ChromeOS on an SSD, the installation was done directly by plugging in the SSD through the SD card and I haven't touched anything since.

I want to format and reuse this SSD for DietPi but I do not know if the boot will be done because from what I understood an update is needed (I am a noob, forgive me if I am not explaining myself correctly ).

Before doing such an operation I would like to know how to go about it, do I have to reinstall Raspian on an SD card beforehand? etc., etc.

I thank you in advance for your response
Please excuse me for my English :)
Joulinar

Re: Some Questions

Post by Joulinar »

Usually it should work out of the box to flash DietPi directly on your SSD and boot from it.

For testing purposes you could flash DietPi on a free usb pen stick to see if it is working fine.

If not, maybe bootloader to be updated or boot order to be modified.
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
JackVandereden

Post by JackVandereden »

Thank you Joulinar for this quick response!
I will try with a corsair USB key that I have on hand then.
If the bootloader needs to be updated, what should I do? Ditto for the order. I'll test this right away.
Joulinar

Post by Joulinar »

Usually flashing DietPi on a SD card and perform initial setup should update bootloader automatically. In most cases this is enough.