Kodi Error

Have some feedback, questions, suggestions, or just fancy a chat? Pop it in here.
User avatar
Joulinar
Posts: 5998
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 12:49 am

Re: Kodi Error

Post by Joulinar »

The command to start Kodi would be

Code: Select all

startkodi
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
Exatic
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2021 1:57 am

Re: Kodi Error

Post by Exatic »

Still the same error

Code: Select all

dietpi@DietPi:~$ startkodi
Cannot connect to server socket err = No such file or directory
Cannot connect to server request channel
jack server is not running or cannot be started
JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr - Init not done for -1, skipping unlock
JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr - Init not done for -1, skipping unlock
libva info: VA-API version 1.10.0
libva error: vaGetDriverNameByIndex() failed with unknown libva error, driver_name = (null)
User avatar
Joulinar
Posts: 5998
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 12:49 am

Re: Kodi Error

Post by Joulinar »

pls can you provide some more information on your system

Required Information
  • DietPi version | cat /boot/dietpi/.version
  • Distro version | echo $G_DISTRO_NAME $G_RASPBIAN
  • Kernel version | uname -a
  • SBC model | echo $G_HW_MODEL_NAME or (EG: RPi3)
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
Exatic
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2021 1:57 am

Re: Kodi Error

Post by Exatic »

Code: Select all

dietpi@DietPi:~$ cat /boot/dietpi/.version
G_DIETPI_VERSION_CORE=7
G_DIETPI_VERSION_SUB=6
G_DIETPI_VERSION_RC=2
G_GITBRANCH='master'
G_GITOWNER='MichaIng'
G_LIVE_PATCH_STATUS[0]='not applicable'
G_LIVE_PATCH_STATUS[1]='applied'
G_LIVE_PATCH_STATUS[2]='applied'
G_LIVE_PATCH_STATUS[3]='applied'
G_LIVE_PATCH_STATUS[4]='not applicable'

Code: Select all

dietpi@DietPi:~$ echo $G_DISTRO_NAME $G_RASPBIAN
bullseye 1

Code: Select all

dietpi@DietPi:~$ uname -a
Linux DietPi 5.10.63-v7l+ #1457 SMP Tue Sep 28 11:26:14 BST 2021 armv7l GNU/Linux
Running on a RPI4. I manually upgraded from DietPi Buster to Bullseye following the blog entry.
User avatar
MichaIng
Site Admin
Posts: 3357
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:21 pm

Re: Kodi Error

Post by MichaIng »

Can you please try to reinstall Kodi, to assure that also the fKMS driver is used etc:

Code: Select all

dietpi-software reinstall 31
reboot
I also see the libva error, but Kodi starts fine despite this.
Exatic
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2021 1:57 am

Re: Kodi Error

Post by Exatic »

Still nothing. The Kodi is running (both in ps x) and it makes its startup sound, but nothing on the screen. I have set DietPi to autostart directly to Kodi (user dietpi) from dietpi-config, however it is just showing the terminal with the libra error. Could it be needed to run through a DE?

I will try a fresh install on a new card tomorrow. Was hoping to avoid it through upgrading instead, and so far everything else is working fine.
User avatar
Joulinar
Posts: 5998
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 12:49 am

Re: Kodi Error

Post by Joulinar »

could you try using user root to start kodi on autostart.
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
User avatar
MichaIng
Site Admin
Posts: 3357
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:21 pm

Re: Kodi Error

Post by MichaIng »

Like if it was running on a different screen :?.
ISquishWorms
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 2:01 am

Re: Kodi Error

Post by ISquishWorms »

Hello,

This is a guess on my part but could the problem they are having be something to do with the Pi4 having two HDMI outputs? I ask this only because on my Pi3 I did a complete fresh install for Bullseye including installing Kodi and I get the same error but Kodi does load and displays its user interface on the TV.

I am having my own problem though of not being able to navigate using my TV controller anymore since the fresh install of Bullseye and Kodi. This is probably down to something I am doing wrong like a setting that needs changing but at the moment I am lost on how to fix this.

Thank you for DietPi I have been using it for a few years now on a Pi3 and Pi4 it is my goto.

ISquishWorms
User avatar
MichaIng
Site Admin
Posts: 3357
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:21 pm

Re: Kodi Error

Post by MichaIng »

Indeed this seems to be the issue, same as here: viewtopic.php?p=38517#p38517

Probably for some reason the second unused screen/HDMI port is used when starting Kodi via GBM from console. Probably it works when actively disabling the second HDMI port, or there is another way to force it using the 1st/foreground screen/port, despite a second one is available.
Post Reply