Question about backups and storage space

Have some feedback, questions, suggestions, or just fancy a chat? Pop it in here.
Klola

Question about backups and storage space

Post by Klola »

Hello all,

I have a Rasp 1 with a 16GB SD card, DietPi v7.3.2 and PiHole.

1. 4.7GB of used space? Just by DietPi, PiHole and a backup?
2. before each update I create a backup on the SD card. Is this file always overwritten with a new version?
3. what is the easiest way to get the backup from the SD card? To an extra USB stick or via my network to my Windows PC? I am still a beginner with Linux commands and Putty.

Thank you very much!
Attachments
screenshot
screenshot
space.png (9.22 KiB) Viewed 92 times
Joulinar

Re: Question about backups and storage space

Post by Joulinar »

Hi,

let's check for larges files on your system. This way we will see where your space is gone

Code: Select all

du -a / | sort -n -r | head -n 20
Easiest way to store the backup on an USB stick would be to create the backup directly on it. Just connect the USB stick and have it mounted using dietpi-drive_manager. Once done use the new location of your USB stick as backup target in dietpi-backup.
There is no need to copy the existing backup. Just create a new one and delete the old backup.
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
Klola

Post by Klola »

Thanks @Joulinar

The first 4 paths were not found.

I will then simply store it on a USB stick.
Recommendation on the easiest way to delete the old backup? Change to /mnt/dietpi-backup and delete?

Greetings
Attachments
path.png
path.png (24.72 KiB) Viewed 46 times
Joulinar

Post by Joulinar »

the first 4 lines are totally fine. Just ignore them.

to delete the old backup, just do

rm -Rf /mnt/dietpi-backup