error with letsencrypt? Topic is solved

Have some feedback, questions, suggestions, or just fancy a chat? Pop it in here.
lightsout
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2021 12:02 am

Re: error with letsencrypt?

Post by lightsout »

MichaIng wrote: Sat Mar 20, 2021 7:19 pm But the file has a capital F, while you entered the URL with lower case f, isn't it? :)
When you create an index.html in the test dir, accessing the dir should work as well. Although directory indexing sound be enabled by default add well.

But please try with the .well-known/acme-challenge dir, so that we test the extract access the ACME server does.

Did you install any other web application aside of Nextcloud?
Ok sorry yes its capital, I can access the frog through local ip but not remotely with the domain. I put it in the acme-challenge directory and I can see it on the network.

Here is what I have installed.
Image
lightsout
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2021 12:02 am

Re: error with letsencrypt?

Post by lightsout »

Ok sorry for all the trouble. I'm sure it gets old holding peoples hand. I had port 80 and port 443 forwarded to 192.168.1.10 and 192.168.1.12 which is the SBC and the VM. As soon as I deleted the forward to the SBC all is well.

I guess I need a vlan or something if I want to turn those two devices on my network.
User avatar
MichaIng
Site Admin
Posts: 2783
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:21 pm

Re: error with letsencrypt?

Post by MichaIng »

Ah yes, probably one device can act as reverse proxy for the other, forwarding certain URL paths are a subdomain. That would also allow to configure HTTPS only on one while the other can safely stay with simple HTTP as backend.
lightsout
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2021 12:02 am

Re: error with letsencrypt?

Post by lightsout »

MichaIng wrote: Sat Mar 20, 2021 9:00 pm Ah yes, probably one device can act as reverse proxy for the other, forwarding certain URL paths are a subdomain. That would also allow to configure HTTPS only on one while the other can safely stay with simple HTTP as backend.
Thanks, much learning to do. :D
User avatar
Joulinar
Posts: 4249
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 12:49 am

Re: error with letsencrypt?

Post by Joulinar »

Yep, port forwarding can be done to a single system only. It's not possible to forward same port to 2 or more device. This as well is reflected in the error message on one of the first post. Letsencrypt was not able to reach your system.

Code: Select all

   To fix these errors, please make sure that your domain name was
   entered correctly and the DNS A/AAAA record(s) for that domain
   contain(s) the right IP address
This can be bypassed by using a revers proxy. This way you can reach multiple systems in the back. The whole SSL handling and forwarding will be done by the proxy based on sub-path or sub-domain.
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
lightsout
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2021 12:02 am

Re: error with letsencrypt?

Post by lightsout »

Joulinar wrote: Sat Mar 20, 2021 10:27 pm Yep, port forwarding can be done to a single system only. It's not possible to forward same port to 2 or more device. This as well is reflected in the error message on one of the first post. Letsencrypt was not able to reach your system.

Code: Select all

   To fix these errors, please make sure that your domain name was
   entered correctly and the DNS A/AAAA record(s) for that domain
   contain(s) the right IP address
This can be bypassed by using a revers proxy. This way you can reach multiple systems in the back. The whole SSL handling and forwarding will be done by the proxy based on sub-path or sub-domain.
Thanks, it's something I keep seeing mentioned, haven't taken the time to dig into it.
Post Reply