RootFS is currently Read Only (R/O) mounted. Aborting... Topic is solved

Having issues with your DietPi installation, or, found a bug? Post it here.
D_a_n

RootFS is currently Read Only (R/O) mounted. Aborting...

Post by D_a_n »

When attempting to execute dietpi-config, I get the error

Code: Select all

RootFS is currently Read Only (R/O) mounted. Aborting...
It says to run dietpi-drive_manager to re-enable. However, I'm unsure what to do after I enter the drive manager.

What is causing this error, it has happened to me multiple times and I just end up flashing a new image to reinstall. But this time is occured pretty much straight after installing. The only things I have done is:
[*]Install OpenVPN
[*]Install qBittorent
[*]Install ProFTP
[*]Set a static IP and change DNS servers

Thanks, I'm very new to all this so sorry if this is an obvious question.
Joulinar

Re: RootFS is currently Read Only (R/O) mounted. Aborting...

Post by Joulinar »

Hi,

many thanks for your report. What do you mean by "it has happened to me multiple times"?? How often this happen in the past? Usually this should not happen at all! Do you have a different SD card that can be used?
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
JuniorChange

Post by JuniorChange »

Hey,

I am having the same problem just updated my Pi 4 Model B (armv71) to Dietpi v6.29.2 Latest version. I only have a 32GB micro-SD card in it. All storage goes to my NFS mounted NAS.

Installed Sonarr, Deluge, Nzbget changed to static IP and installed open vpn client.

Pi worked fine until Nzbget stopped downloading after about an hour. So I rebooted.

Now I get:
RootFS is currently Read Only (R/O) mounted. Aborting
DietPi requires RootFS to be Read/Write (R/W) mounted. Please run "dietpi-drive_manager" to re-enable.
When I try and run most of the diet-_____ commands. And none of my Softwares are running anymore