Configure a Wifi Access point for intranet/Local network only

Have some feedback, questions, suggestions, or just fancy a chat? Pop it in here.
sylvanomtl

Configure a Wifi Access point for intranet/Local network only

Post by sylvanomtl »

Happy new year everybody.
I am quite new to the world of Linux/Microcontrollers/Arduino... I am more a general engineer guy with more a mechanical background.

After months of gathering information on the Internet, and various trials with Arduino/esp8266's, and a first try of MQTT/Node-red, I would like to start implementing a battery powered local network, to monitor sensors of various types, with a lot of flexibility.

I ended up to the conclusion that MQTT would offer the best alternative, as it seems easy to implement on microcontrollers such as Arduino/Esp8266/Esp32...
So I decided to the RaspberryPi3(B?) I have to host a Broker and develop some node-red code on it.

In term of hardware I would have:

Sensors --> uController with Wifi connectivity, Sub+Pub MQTT requests

<---> RaspPi as an Access Point with MQTT Broker and a node-red
<---> Stations connecting to the Raspberry (smartphone/tablet/Other Pi) to either conrol the whole network by connecting to the Access point page (node red: port 1883 and 1880), or by having their own node-red dashboard and sub+pub to the broker.

Finally, everything will operate on batteries, in harsh environment (at least IP68 required) and miles away from an ethernet plug. There will be no ethernet cable. (Maybe later to transfer data)

Quite long description, he ?

So to carry out the development I have installed DietPi, Node-Red, MQTT... But I need to configure the Access Point. The dietPi-software propose to install something to activate the Hotspot capability, but it fails as I have no ethernet cable.

Question:
1) How to setup an access point while there is no ethernet connexion (and no internet access)?