Microsoft Visual Code Topic is solved

Having issues with your DietPi installation, or, found a bug? Post it here.
Post Reply
pakikje
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2016 3:04 pm

Microsoft Visual Code

Post by pakikje »

Hello guys,

I love Nano as my texteditor but miss "line-numbers" in this editor. I don't want to learn Vi (vim) and am looking for an editor with line-numbers. Now, i just read that Microsoft Visual code (editor) should be installable in debian. (but i can't get it to install). (tried several methodes)

1) Can it be installed?
2) Does this editor work in SSH?
3) Is there an alternative editor? (that works in SSH)

Greetz: Patrick

Odroid C2
DietPi v6.22.3

ps: it seems that there are dependencies that can not be installed:


The following packages have unmet dependencies:
code:amd64 : Depends: libnotify4:amd64 but it is not installable
Depends: libnss3:amd64 (>= 2:3.26) but it is not installable
Depends: apt:amd64 but it is not installable
Depends: libxkbfile1:amd64 but it is not installable
Depends: libsecret-1-0:amd64 but it is not installable
Depends: libgtk-3-0:amd64 (>= 3.10.0) but it is not installable
Depends: libxss1:amd64 but it is not installable
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.
root@DietPi:~#
pakikje
Posts: 124
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2016 3:04 pm

Re: Microsoft Visual Code

Post by pakikje »

me soo thick.. :-(

(CTRL-C whilst in nano or "nano -c" does the trick)

(also added "set constantshow" to .nanorc)
User avatar
MichaIng
Site Admin
Posts: 2421
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:21 pm

Re: Microsoft Visual Code

Post by MichaIng »

Yeah, it's like using a fusion reactor to bake your breakfast buns because it has a thermometer inside. Besides it's a billion dollar project, it does not fit into your kitchen (it's a graphical editor so does not run in terminal/SSH). And you can add a thermometer to your oven as well. Install it permanently: echo 'set linenumbers' >> ~/.nanorc
Chester007
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 3:57 pm

Re: Microsoft Visual Code

Post by Chester007 »

I never knew you could do that with nano. I always had to Ctrl + C
Thanks, I learned something new!
Post Reply