Rock64 new image

Having issues with your DietPi installation, or, found a bug? Post it here.
burgyman

Rock64 new image

Post by burgyman »

Hi,

I've installed the latest image (2019-02-02) on a Rock64 4GB and couldn't get it to work as smooth as my previous setup (DietPi_v6.7_Rock64-ARMv8-Stretch.img updated as per https://github.com/Fourdee/DietPi/issue ... -408260405)
  • Samba performance is a lot lower, from 50-60 MB/s with "old" image to max 12 MB/s with latest image
  • I use Entware.net installed on /opt and after rebooting it stops working because mount becomes read-only (I'm not an expert and didn't have time to investigate/fix)
There were some scripts like rock64_health.sh and rock64_fix_performance.sh that I didn't find anymore.
Re-installing old image DietPi_v6.7_Rock64-ARMv8-Stretch.img (I think there was some other updates later but that's the one I have) and restoring a backup brought everything back to normal.

Not sure if there's something missing on the latest image or someone else facing similar issues.
MichaIng
Site Admin

Re: Rock64 new image

Post by MichaIng »

Hmm the new image is based on ARMbian, while the old was from Ayufan. Actually the new one should provide newer kernel and such, which was the reason why Fourdee switched it.

Is the performance with the old image directly better or do you need to run rock64_fix_performance.sh and/or rock64_health.sh?
If so what do those scripts do, could you paste the content here?
burgyman

Post by burgyman »

Yes with the old image I usually need to run rock64_fix_performance.sh after startup (using custom.sh).
It performs some sort of IRQ affinity tweaks, content is here https://github.com/ayufan-rock64/linux- ... ormance.sh and you find many other scripts there as well.