[Solved] After upgrading DietPi, it wants to set up as it was fresh

Having issues with your DietPi installation, or, found a bug? Post it here.
skyfly555
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 12:16 pm

[Solved] After upgrading DietPi, it wants to set up as it was fresh

Post by skyfly555 »

Hello.

i'm using an Intel mini PC with the UEFI image from GitHub, which boots with rEFInd.

It runs smoothly, but after doing the latest upgrade, to 6.20.6, every time I boot I need to Ctrl-C, because, if I don't, I go directly into the first configuration wizard and I get stuck there.

What do I have to do to boot normally?

First screen I get (I tell it to cancel)
Image
Second screen, to change the user password, I cancel.
I get here, and click on exit:
Image
This is what I get:
Image
And I get back here again:
Image

Thank you very much,
Last edited by skyfly555 on Fri Feb 08, 2019 12:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
skyfly555
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 12:16 pm

Re: After upgrading DietPi, it wants to set up as it was fresh

Post by skyfly555 »

Now I realize, after upgrading, my lighttpd and syncthing seem to be dead.

Image
skyfly555
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 12:16 pm

Re: After upgrading DietPi, it wants to set up as it was fresh

Post by skyfly555 »

I can wake up "Syncthing" using:

Code: Select all

service syncthing start
and it seems to work,
but after

Code: Select all

service lighttpd start
I cannot go into /admin folder, where I have the Pi-Hole Admin Console.
I get:
503 - Service Not Available

I reboot, and see as lighttpd and syncthing are not running, how can I change it, to load them when computer starts?

Thank you!
skyfly555
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 12:16 pm

Re: After upgrading DietPi, it wants to set up as it was fresh

Post by skyfly555 »

It was php.
Doing

Code: Select all

service php7.0-fpm start
I can get into Pi Hole Web Admin.

So, now, I have 26 services; when I reboot, I have 18.

Is this related to the "first boot" screens I get, maybe it doesn't start all the DietPi Services I had configured?

Thank you,
skyfly555
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 12:16 pm

Re: After upgrading DietPi, it wants to set up as it was fresh

Post by skyfly555 »

****WORKAROUND****

When I type

Code: Select all

dietpi-services restart
I get all the processes up.

I need you to know how to tell DietPi it's yet configured, so the "first boot assistant" is not loaded.
Last edited by skyfly555 on Fri Feb 08, 2019 12:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Gabba
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2016 1:48 pm

Re: After upgrading DietPi, it wants to set up as it was fresh

Post by Gabba »

I am having the same issue with Odroid C2
skyfly555
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 12:16 pm

Re: After upgrading DietPi, it wants to set up as it was fresh

Post by skyfly555 »

I hope somebody will help us,

It must be a service that is marked as "active", and it must be disabled; when the "first boot assistant" is loaded, as you see, a lot of services are disabled.

The workaround is pressing Ctrl+C when the system boots, or when you go into it by SSH, and, after that, typing:

Code: Select all

dietpi-services restart
But this is a workaround, not a solution.
Torvald
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:30 pm

Re: [NOT SOLVED] After upgrading DietPi, it wants to set up as it was fresh

Post by Torvald »

Hi! Did you watch this thread?
User avatar
MichaIng
Site Admin
Posts: 2295
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:21 pm

Re: [NOT SOLVED] After upgrading DietPi, it wants to set up as it was fresh

Post by MichaIng »

Jep the issue should be fixed with v6.21. If you are still stuck in the loop, please cancel any dietpi-software prompt and do the following:

Code: Select all

> /DietPi/dietpi/.update_stage
echo 1 > /DietPi/dietpi/.install_stage
dietpi-update 1
skyfly555
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 12:16 pm

Re: [NOT SOLVED] After upgrading DietPi, it wants to set up as it was fresh

Post by skyfly555 »

Torvald wrote: Fri Feb 08, 2019 3:41 pm Hi! Did you watch this thread?
Thank you, I hadn't seen it.
Post Reply