V6 on Pine64 512

Having issues with your DietPi installation, or, found a bug? Post it here.
Post Reply
araz
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 8:54 pm

V6 on Pine64 512

Post by araz »

Hi all!
I've been running dietpi on Pine64 for almost a year now. Today, I tried upgrading to 160. However, my device won't boot. I tried:
- Different boards (I have two)
- 3 different SSD cards
- Different power sources

I can confirm that my boards are working with 159 and other images. With the new image, I get no video output.

Thanks!
User avatar
DrewG
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 3:58 am
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: V6 on Pine64 512

Post by DrewG »

I can confirm that V6.1 works on the Pine64 + 1G board.

I am however having trouble getting any of the desktop environments to work at the moment. But v6.1 does work
araz
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 8:54 pm

Re: V6 on Pine64 512

Post by araz »

Thank you! I will try with the 1G board and report back.
User avatar
DrewG
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 3:58 am
Location: Alberta, Canada

Re: V6 on Pine64 512

Post by DrewG »

araz wrote:Thank you! I will try with the 1G board and report back.
Not sure if you've had a chance to get it working but Fourdee figured out my desktop issues. It was a bug of some kind.

Refer to the GitHub link on how to fix it.

https://github.com/Fourdee/DietPi/issues/1604

Works great now and super fast.
araz
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 8:54 pm

Re: V6 on Pine64 512

Post by araz »

Oh sweet! No, I have not tested with 1G board yet. I will report back when I do...
araz
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 8:54 pm

Re: V6 on Pine64 512

Post by araz »

DrewG wrote:
araz wrote:Thank you! I will try with the 1G board and report back.
Not sure if you've had a chance to get it working but Fourdee figured out my desktop issues. It was a bug of some kind.

Refer to the GitHub link on how to fix it.

https://github.com/Fourdee/DietPi/issues/1604

Works great now and super fast.

I tried on other 512 and 1G boards but no luck :( Used multiple SD cards just in case. No HDMI output or ethernet action. Could you please confirm that you are using the original Pine64 1G version?
0verwatch
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 2:51 pm

Re: V6 on Pine64 512

Post by 0verwatch »

i use the 4gb version and can also not boot with the current image
araz
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2018 8:54 pm

Re: V6 on Pine64 512

Post by araz »

I think I know what's happening. The device actually boots. The problem is that there is no video output. Tried with different devices and monitors. I can SSH to the device once it's up and running.
drwhowhogrub
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 8:50 am

Re: V6 on Pine64 512

Post by drwhowhogrub »

Hi anyone, I have the 512mb version of this board, Has anyone managed to get this to boot? I know there is no video output but it still doesn't seem to show up on my network. Do you know how long the initial boot takes?
Thanks
Post Reply