Updating V157 to V156??

Having issues with your DietPi installation, or, found a bug? Post it here.
Post Reply
Huffpuffin
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 6:59 pm

Updating V157 to V156??

Post by Huffpuffin »

I've been having a few instances when the splash screen is telling me that an update is available. I've used dietpi-update and been told I'm already using the latest version.

Now I'm getting this:
splash.jpg
Any ideas as to why this might be?

Should I maybe wait for V158 and see if that clears it?

Any help greatly appreciated. Thanks.
DarkElvenAngel
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 9:56 pm

Re: Updating V157 to V156??

Post by DarkElvenAngel »

I'm seeing the same issue and I'm using V158. I can tell you this is only comes up when I have no internet connection or if I'm booting and the network isn't up yet.

Looking at the source code I found something in the dietpi-banner script that looks for a file call .update_available but I don't have such a file on my system so there must be an error elsewhere I haven't had time to find. The important thing to not is that the installed version number is higher than the update so you know you don't have to update.

Hopeful this helps anyone else with this issue. Has anyone opened a Ticket for this Bug?
User avatar
Fourdee
Site Admin
Posts: 2788
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:36 pm

Re: Updating V157 to V156??

Post by Fourdee »

Hi Guys,

Thanks for the report.

Had a quick look at the script, can see there may be a case where no internet connection and a previous .update_available file would still exist.
We'll get this fixed:
https://github.com/Fourdee/DietPi/issues/1258
If you find our project or support useful, then we’d really appreciate it if you’d consider contributing to the project however you can.
Donating is the easiest – you can use PayPal or become a DietPi patron.
DarkElvenAngel
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 9:56 pm

Re: Updating V157 to V156??

Post by DarkElvenAngel »

Thanks for looking in to this issue,

I found a .update_available in the /boot/dietpi folder once I deleted it the issue was solved.
Post Reply