Kodi and VNC

Having issues with your DietPi installation, or, found a bug? Post it here.
Post Reply
jram
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 13, 2017 7:42 pm

Kodi and VNC

Post by jram »

Raspi b+ with fresh DietPi.

I log on with VNC and get a nice desktop. Double click on Kodi and it starts up on the HDMI screen. There must be a simple solution but I don't have it.

MTIA

John
novitibo
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 5:11 pm

Re: Kodi and VNC

Post by novitibo »

yes, i wonder too, how to get kodi screen seen via VNC.
:o
novitibo
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 5:11 pm

Re: Kodi and VNC

Post by novitibo »

@Fourdee

please heeeeeeeeeelp......
User avatar
Fourdee
Site Admin
Posts: 2788
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:36 pm

Re: Kodi and VNC

Post by Fourdee »

I don't believe its possible over a TightVNC/VNC4 VNC instance, as it lacks GPU acceleration.

It may work with RealVNC, which supports a shared desktop/screen capture:
http://dietpi.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f ... t=80#p4149

Although, thats for RPi only (due to limitations by RealVNC)
If you find our project or support useful, then we’d really appreciate it if you’d consider contributing to the project however you can.
Donating is the easiest – you can use PayPal or become a DietPi patron.
novitibo
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 5:11 pm

Re: Kodi and VNC

Post by novitibo »

With RealVNC we can see remotely our desktop on Rpi, but after we start Kodi, we cannot see Kodi via RealVNC but only on Rpi direct via HDMi output.

Is there a way to configure RealVNC to see what's on HDMI output?
User avatar
Fourdee
Site Admin
Posts: 2788
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 1:36 pm

Re: Kodi and VNC

Post by Fourdee »

novitibo wrote: Is there a way to configure RealVNC to see what's on HDMI output?
Not that i'am aware of.
If you find our project or support useful, then we’d really appreciate it if you’d consider contributing to the project however you can.
Donating is the easiest – you can use PayPal or become a DietPi patron.
dianakev

Re: Kodi and VNC

Post by dianakev »

i think because of kodi app is not an X-Windows application so we cannot see its interface via VNC. The normal VNC servers only share the X-Windows screen. Kodi has to use a separate GPU framebuffer for its screen. Someone made a special VNC server that can share the dispmanx frmaebuffer that kodi uses on https://github.com/hanzelpeter/dispmanx_vnc
kamlesh34
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2018 5:43 am
Contact:

Re: Kodi and VNC

Post by kamlesh34 »

I think you should look at this topic to know more about it- http://dietpi.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f ... t=80#p4149
Kodi is always a great option to entertainment but you need to install some best Kodi addon for movies 2018
markhascole
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2018 11:35 am

Re: Kodi and VNC

Post by markhascole »

Helpful thread,
I haven't heard VNC before but if ve compare SPMC and Kodi than none is better kodi.
User avatar
WarHawk
Posts: 606
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 8:55 am

Re: Kodi and VNC

Post by WarHawk »

streaming, network cannot keep up with the output of the video stream...thus it shows black

I don't think you can attach view like kodi like that

Looked up the symptoms in google
Saw this on a RPi forum
VNC can only see the X/console framebuffer - not the video and openGL layers used by Kodi.
You need the dispmanx vnc server.

You can use it for basic admin tasks, but VNC is too slow/laggy for watching video.
Might even be able to use VLC to view the stream from Kodi on your native machine
https://betanews.com/2017/06/16/how-to- ... ia-player/
To capture and record a video of your desktop to a file, click the Media menu in VLC and select Convert / Save. Click the Capture Device tab and select Desktop from the Capture mode box. The default frame rate is one frame per second, which won’t appear very smooth. You’ll probably want to increase the frame rate.
https://www.howtogeek.com/120202/how-to ... -with-vlc/ <-this looks like it might work...but CPU usage on the SBC might be high

and this
https://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=168381
Post Reply