Help Do i need more than one RPi3?

Have some feedback, questions, suggestions, or just fancy a chat? Pop it in here.
DRATLER

Help Do i need more than one RPi3?

Post by DRATLER »

Hi Guys.
trust you're well.

Please note I am very new to this please take it easy on me, I have a RPi3 B I know how to install and configure the following :

* RPi Imager for burning image
* DietPi imaged installed and configured
* Pihole Installed and configured to work as a DNS and a DHCP on my home network

What I was wondering is, on this current setup I would like to install a nas which I know how to but it uses the SD card as the storage which is where the pihole and Os sits.

would it be possible to have the nas point to a different drive (external) for network storage and not interrupt the pihole or would I have to get the nas as a standalone.

If this is possible please let me know step by step how to do it keeping my current setup.

Regards
DRATLER
Joulinar

Re: Help Do i need more than one RPi3?

Post by Joulinar »

Hi,

short question.What kind of NAS software you like to install? Basically you could install SAMBA if you like to share external HDDs connected to your RPi.
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
DRATLER

Post by DRATLER »

Hi so I installed samba feature rich file server option number 96 on the dietpi software installation which I want it to save on an external drive but also keep in mind I still want pihole to run on the same raspberry pi 3
Joulinar

Post by Joulinar »

PiHole is working completely independent from SAMBA
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
DRATLER

Post by DRATLER »

OK cool so how do I set up samba step by step for external storage
DRATLER

Post by DRATLER »

So in other words I can have samba on an external hard drive as well as pihole on the same RPi
Joulinar

Post by Joulinar »