VPN client for DietPi Topic is solved

Have some feedback, questions, suggestions, or just fancy a chat? Pop it in here.
JRaducha

VPN client for DietPi

Post by JRaducha » Sat May 25, 2019 10:53 pm

I am using a Allo Boss DAC for Roon connectivity. I am looking to put the DAC at a remote location and access my server through a L2TP VPN connection. I am looking for a VPN CLIENT that will allow me to do this in DietPi, and make sure all the traffic goes through the VPN connection. How can I do this? What app should be downloaded?

Thank you!

MichaIng
Site Admin

Re: VPN client for DietPi

Post by MichaIng » Sun May 26, 2019 1:18 am

Are you bound to L2TP? That does not work with the VPN clients we offer through DietPi-Software. So if OpenVPN or WireGuard is an option, that would work.

I have no experience with L2TP, which is usually paired with IPsec, which again is known to be a bid complicated to setup. However hopefully this guide helps you: https://gist.github.com/mietek/4877cd74423bf6925b92

JRaducha

Post by JRaducha » Sun May 26, 2019 6:56 am

I am not bound to L2TP. The Qnap I am using as my VPN server does support OpenVPN.

I looked all over, and I can not find where to install just the CLIENT on OpenVPN in DietPi. Do you have instructions on that?

The other option, I was thinking about would be just using a SSH Tunnel. What are your thoughts on that?\

I have my iPhone and a MacBook Pro already configured to use the L2TP, and it works great. That is why I was trying to use that for the ALLO Boss.

MichaIng wrote:
Sun May 26, 2019 1:18 am
Are you bound to L2TP? That does not work with the VPN clients we offer through DietPi-Software. So if OpenVPN or WireGuard is an option, that would work.

I have no experience with L2TP, which is usually paired with IPsec, which again is known to be a bid complicated to setup. However hopefully this guide helps you: https://gist.github.com/mietek/4877cd74423bf6925b92

MichaIng
Site Admin