Portainer - Swarm installation Topic is solved

Have some feedback, questions, suggestions, or just fancy a chat? Pop it in here.
oengus
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2021 6:37 pm

Portainer - Swarm installation

Post by oengus »

Would there be anyway to make portainer available as a swarm installation (it's possible to enable swarm with only one node). The idea here is that the standalone version, for some reason, doesn't supporte docker-compose files at v3, and more and more projects has it at it's version...

If anyone knows how I could convert my current standalone installed version (via dietpi-software) to swarm, I'm a taker ! :)
User avatar
Joulinar
Posts: 4814
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 12:49 am

Re: Portainer - Swarm installation

Post by Joulinar »

Hi,

not sure which portainer version you are running but Portainer CE 2.1.1 does support Compose >3 in standalone hosts https://www.portainer.io/blog/portainer-release-2.1.1
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
User avatar
WarHawk
Posts: 730
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2017 8:55 am

Re: Portainer - Swarm installation

Post by WarHawk »

Bit of googling found this

https://documentation.portainer.io/v2.0 ... tallswarm/

no need for DietPi to build it in...simple commands will set it up

upgrade docker to latest issue
https://documentation.portainer.io/v2.0 ... upddocker/
upgrade docker swarm
https://documentation.portainer.io/v2.0 ... /updswarm/
User avatar
Joulinar
Posts: 4814
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 12:49 am

Re: Portainer - Swarm installation

Post by Joulinar »

just run following to update portainer to latest version

Code: Select all

dietpi-software reinstall 185
https://dietpi.com/docs/software/pogramming/#portainer
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
oengus
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2021 6:37 pm

Re: Portainer - Swarm installation

Post by oengus »

@Joulinar Went on and used the command, upgraded to 2.1.1 (not sure which one I had before, didn't check 🤦‍♂️) but I still get error that composer V3 isn't supported 🤷‍♂️

@WarHawk your links seems to relate to Portainer Business, or it's also applicable to CE ?
oengus
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2021 6:37 pm

Re: Portainer - Swarm installation

Post by oengus »

@jollyrogr UGH. Scrap my last message. It's not available yet for ARM (I'm running on a Pi4.), this explaining that.
User avatar
Joulinar
Posts: 4814
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 12:49 am

Re: Portainer - Swarm installation

Post by Joulinar »

oengus wrote: Thu May 13, 2021 10:22 pm @jollyrogr UGH. Scrap my last message. It's not available yet for ARM (I'm running on a Pi4.), this explaining that.
in this case you can try to build your own arm image. usually image creator have their Dockerfile files located on GitHub. But it's a pity that not all images are available on arm/arm64
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
oengus
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2021 6:37 pm

Re: Portainer - Swarm installation

Post by oengus »

Nah, it's actually their own binary of docker-compose that is not available for ARM. Why they build their own is over my head, but they do that ! 🤷‍♂️
User avatar
Joulinar
Posts: 4814
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 12:49 am

Re: Portainer - Swarm installation

Post by Joulinar »

docker-compose is available via dietpi-software. you should be able to use it even without portainer
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
oengus
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2021 6:37 pm

Re: Portainer - Swarm installation

Post by oengus »

True, but they use their own with Portainer. I just don't want to play with Docker on CLI myself, that's why I'm sticking to portainer ;-) I'm just... Not truly docker savvy enough for that 😅
Post Reply