Mycroft + custom pulseaudio installation = trouble Topic is solved

Having issues with your DietPi installation or found a bug? Post it here.
dodecadog

Mycroft + custom pulseaudio installation = trouble

Post by dodecadog »

Hi everyone,

I'm struggling to set up Mycroft on top of a custom audio configuration required for my bluetooth speaker that has an embedded microphone. I was hoping someone savvy could help me debug the situation. I've gotten as far as the audio test working just fine when run as dietpi (it can record sound and play it back, detecting pulse as an audio device). But, weirdly, outside the audiotest, Mycroft can't hear me and won't produce any sound. More info below.

Device: Raspberry Pi 3B

Why I (probably) need a different version of pulseaudio than supplied in the official repos: I'm no expert in hardware, but after following multiple tutorials in hopes of getting my bluetooth speaker/mic combo (essentially a headset) working with my Raspberry 3B, I have come to the conclusion that the pulseaudio version in the repos is too old to support my bluetooth card in handsfree_head_unit mode, with only a2dp_sink profile being available (i.e. speaker works but microphone doesn't).

Steps leading up to the issue:
(following some trial and error, the remains of which I hopefully cleaned up)

Code: Select all

sudo apt install pulseaudio pulseaudio-utils
, to make apt mark these packages as installed;

sudo apt-mark hold pulseaudio pulseaudio-utils
, to prevent apt overwriting what I did next;
3. Install the latest pulseaudio from source as per https://www.freedesktop.org/wiki/Softwa ... dioFromGit, overwriting the official pulseaudio that was already installed;
4. Confirm that parecord and paplay work with my bluetooth device, i.e. both speaker and microphone work after I did

pactl load-module module-bluetooth-discover
pacmd set-card-profile [card] handsfree_head_unit