Webmin doesn't see ProFTPD?

Having issues with your DietPi installation, or, found a bug? Post it here.
oscillik
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2019 2:34 pm

Re: Webmin doesn't see ProFTPD?

Post by oscillik »

Joulinar wrote: Tue Apr 28, 2020 11:15 am I understood you already. Your problem is that Webmin is not detecting your ProFTP installation and this needs to be found out why. As well you stated on your first post that proftpd -v dosn't give anything back. But usually it should state the ProFTP version. So there might be something wrong on ProFTP
I didn't say that typing in proftpd -v gives no results, I said that Webmin is giving that error in the ProFTPD module.

When I type in proftpd -v it returns the version number. It is webmin that doesn't see it.
Attachments
firefox_2020-04-28_10-39-44.png
firefox_2020-04-28_10-39-24.png
NVIDIA_Share_2020-04-28_10-37-19.png
NVIDIA_Share_2020-04-28_10-37-08.png
NVIDIA_Share_2020-04-28_10-36-54.png
User avatar
Joulinar
Posts: 2298
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 12:49 am

Re: Webmin doesn't see ProFTPD?

Post by Joulinar »

what button you need to push to get the output of your 2nd screen shot?
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
oscillik
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2019 2:34 pm

Re: Webmin doesn't see ProFTPD?

Post by oscillik »

Joulinar wrote: Tue Apr 28, 2020 11:48 am what button you need to push to get the output of your 2nd screen shot?
1. Login to Webmin
2. Click Servers
3. Click ProFTPD Server
Attachments
NVIDIA_Share_2020-04-28_10-50-26.png
User avatar
Joulinar
Posts: 2298
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 12:49 am

Re: Webmin doesn't see ProFTPD?

Post by Joulinar »

ok for me this is working fine. Seems Webmin has on issue to run proftpd correctly. can you try to open a terminal inside Webmin (ALT+K) and check what proftpd -v will return
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
DensoMaster
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:17 pm

Re: Webmin doesn't see ProFTPD?

Post by DensoMaster »

Hi,

I have the same issue and followed the thread so far.
When I use the webin console (ALT+K) and type proftpd -v I get an empty result.
When doing the same on the ssh terminal on the server I get the correct version information returned.

Any ideas?
User avatar
Joulinar
Posts: 2298
Joined: Sat Nov 16, 2019 12:49 am

Re: Webmin doesn't see ProFTPD?

Post by Joulinar »

hmm that's strange. Maybe something to ask on a Webmin board why ProFTPD is not recognised correctly, even if it is installed

https://sourceforge.net/p/webadmin/discussion/600155
Pls let us know if a solution is working. This could help others if they hit by similar situation. Your DietPi Team
Post Reply