Missing packages in DietPi_RPi-ARMv8-Bookworm v8.12.1

So far, while installing my software on Bookworm v8.12.1, there are 2 packages that are missing.

libfftw3-3. Instead, I installed libfftw3-3’s dependencies: ibfftw3-single3 libfftw3-double3 libfftw3-bin libfftw3-dev, which may have taken care of it.

freeglut3. freeglut3-dev is present, but I can’t find anything like freeglut3 in the package list.

Thanks, Steve

P.S.
Installing freeglut3-dev also installed libglut3.12 and libglut-dev.
Are these equivalent to the missing libfftw3-3?

DietPi don’t has an own apt package repository. We use the global Debian one. Did you checked there if the package is available?

Unfortunately, Debian no longer has freeglut3.
They only list the components of libfftw3-3.

As a systems developer, I though you would be concerned about packages going away.

As stated above, we use Debian as base for our images and we don’t provide/maintain own apt packages. Something we can’t influence if packages are not available anymore.

DietPi themselves is not an own OS. It’s a set of bash script on top of Debian, Armbian or Raspberry Pi OS.

Thanks for your reply.
DietPi seems to work better than even Raspberry Pi OS on the newer OSes.
Sorry you don’t have an input to Debian on the packages they carry.

we are a really small project and building/maintaining packages is simply not possible.

I agree that the duplication of effort is not necessary or practical.
My suggestion is that you request that debian keep these packages and any others that DietPi users request.
I have started to make suggestions through the debian system, but I decided it’s not worth the trouble.

For what software do you need this packages?
I also think if debian could keep this packages they would do it.
But for example the last update for libfftw was 2017. Nobody maintains this package and it is not our job to do this.

For freeglut btw they recommend using the dev package:
https://freeglut.sourceforge.net/